Making it easier for noobs
submit to reddit

• Hey i'm a newbie at starcraft, barely can hold my own in the bronze league. I really liked playing the beta and was excited to see that i could kind of play it while the beta was down using starcrack. I got everything installed correctly but its way too goddamn hard.

This has been addressed in another thread in this forum (http://sc2.nibbits.com/forums/19/view/739/starcrack-easy-ai-too-hard) and the complaint has been mirrored in other places, like the comments of this post (http://www.setupswarm.com/main/games/installation-guides/starcraft-ii-beta-recracked). The two main replies seem to be "well you can change the difficulty to whatever you want" and "you just suck, i can beat hard ai in 20 minutes."

(cont.)

Anonymous
    127.0.0.xxx
  • The first reply is not very helpful for me because i can't find explicit instructions for where to install the different parts of the ai to. From what i can tell i am supposed to use the "other ai" tab in sc2allin1 and place the "aidifficulty.galaxy" file in the root directory of the starcraft 2 install. It also seems like i should change the 'c_difficulty' equal to a high number. I have no idea if i should put it at 3 or 300, or even what the number means, and have only been able to piece together that higher number equals lower difficulty from other unrelated posts. Anyway I've tried this and i still get rushed within 5 minutes regardless of what race i play against. I've been looking up build orders and it just seems impossible. When i play with them in a 2v2 they simply seem to have more resources than me.